Skip to main content

Steve Webb

Chair of the Board

Date of Appointment – 11/07/2017 – 10/07/2021 2nd term with a 2 year extension to 09/07/2023

Committee Membership – Search and Governance Committee & Remuneration Committee

Steve Webb is semi-retired Steve had a degree in Applied Science and a Diploma in Management. He joined the Board in 2012 and has recently given support to Outreach International, a business placing gap/career break individuals throughout the world. Steve’s hobbies include Music, Theatre, Rugby and Walking as well as renovating old properties.

Ian Bates

Vice Chair of the Board

Date of Appointment – 11/02/2020 – 12/02/2024

Committee Membership – Chair of Audit Committee

Ian joined the Board in February 2020. He is a retired chartered Accountant and chairs the Audit Committee, bringing substantial experience in audit, internal control and risk management, corporate governance and the regulated environment. He has been a governor of a large 6th Form College and through supporting his wife (a teacher and SENCo) in her recent studies for a doctorate in educational psychology he has a keen interest in education.


Jane Nicklen

Date of Appointment – 27/03/2018 – 26/03/2022 2nd term with a one year extension to 25/03/2023

Committee Membership – Chair of Remuneration Committee.

Jane joined the Board in May 2014. Jane is experienced in Community Planning and Development, Now recently retired, Jane worked for Weymouth and Portland District Council and the new Dorset Council. Jane has a BA degree in Law.



Jacqui Gerrard

Date of Appointment – 11/07/2017 – 10/07/2021 &  8/10/2022 – 7/10/2026 2nd term

Committee Membership – Chair of Finance and Resources Committee

Jacqui was appointed in 2018 as an Associate Member after moving to live in Weymouth, and took up full membership in March 2019. Jacqui has extensive organisational development and strategic HR experience working in executive director and consultancy roles in commercial technology and telecommunications companies and in central government organisations and NHS Trusts. She has previously been a Governor and Chair of a Sixth Form College in Surrey. During her time as Chair, the college merged with an FE college to increase the range of study pathways available to local students.

Rod Davis

Date of Appointment – 06/11/2021 – 05/11/2025 2nd term

Committee Memberships – Curriculum and Quality & Remuneration Committee

Joining the Board in 2017, Rod brings experience in Apprenticeships and he is Chair of the local Training Providers’ Network.




Andy Matthews

Date of Appointment – 1/11/2015 – 31/10/2019 & 01/11/2019 – 31/10/2023 2nd term

Committee Membership – Audit Committee Member

Andy was appointed in November 2015. Andy is Chair of the Portland Partnership, having worked at one time for the College in a financial capacity; Andy brings much local knowledge and financial expertise to the Board.



Angela Neuberger

Date of Appointment – 01/04/2021 – 31/03/2025

Committee Membership – Finance and Resources Committee Member

Angela’s professional life was in television – working for many years for the BBC, first in current affairs and later documentaries. Angela ran the BBC’s Crimewatch UK. Angela left the BBC to become an independent executive producer and has produced 75 video biographies of trailblazing women to mark the 100th anniversary of the moment women were first allowed to become lawyers. Angela has edited several books and written a history of women in the 20th century.


Karen Dyke

Date of Appointment – 09/11/2021 – 08/11/2025

Committee Memberships – Chair of Curriculum and Quality Committee and Remuneration Committee Member

After a career in finance – with a strong Involvement in staff training – Karen transitioned into Further Education. For the last 30 years, Karen has worked in a number of roles from teaching to senior management and consultancy. Karen has experience in and can support many areas within FE, as well as HE, Local Authorities and Independent Training Providers across the UK.



Ian Girling

Date of Appointment – 13/07/2021 – 12/07/2025

Committee Membership – Audit Committee Member

Ian Girling is the Chief Executive of Dorset Chamber, the county chamber accredited by the British Chambers of Commerce. Ian has a very strong focus delivering high-quality support with the development of new services and benefits for members and leads a modern and vibrant Chamber.

Christopher Evans

Date of Appointment – 12/07/2022 – 11/07/2026

Committee Membership – Finance and Resources Committee Member

Chris’s last 10 years in Financial Services were spent developing and providing retirement income services for people with health conditions. Before moving to Dorset – Chaired a regional charity supporting young people with learning difficulties.



Geoff Channon

Date of Appointment – 13/12/2022 – 12/12/2026

Newly appointed to the Board.


Julia Howe

Chief Executive

Date of Appointment – From 2020

Committee Membership – Search and Governance Committee

Peter Vowles

Date of Appointment – 15/05/2018 – 16/06/2022 and 16/06/22 – 15/05/2026  2nd term

Committee Membership – Search and Governance Committee

Peter has worked in further education for over forty years – in Fiji, Birmingham and Luton before coming to Weymouth. His roles at Weymouth College, as Schools Officer and Student Liaison Officer, bring him into contact with staff and students across the college and with local schools and organisations. He organises Primary College and Careers College for over 3,000 children each year.



Anne Munro

Date of Appointment – February 2023

Anne is a  Learning Facilitator in the School of Construction.  She joined the College in September after many years working with HE Students, mostly teaching English as a Foreign Language (EFL) at a university in southwest France and 13 years in Italy as an EFL teacher and including 15 years as an EFL Lecturer & Programme Manager at the University of Plymouth.

Anne was recently elected as the second staff Board Member.


Teagan Brissett

Student Member

Date of Appointment – From November 2021





Sarah Limm

Student Member

Date of Appointment – From December 2022



Jenny Stiling

Associate/Co-opted Member

Date of Appointment – July 2023 (annual review)

Committee Membership – Search and Governance Committee

Jenny has been associated with Weymouth College for nearly twenty years; her area of expertise is in project funding and development. She has been a member of the College Board for a number of years then, moving to an Associate role.


Jason Vaughan

Associate/Co-opted Member

Date of Appointment – 1/06/2021 – 31/05/2025

Committee Membership – Finance and Resources Committee

Jason is an experienced Financial Accountant working in a senior position for Somerset County Council.

Sue Ratcliffe

Clerk to the Corporation

Date of Appointment – From 2012

Sue was born and educated in Poole and has worked in education in Dorset ever since. Working in various roles for Dorset Youth Service and then Bournemouth Borough Council before joining Bournemouth and Poole College as Director of College and Customer Services and Clerk to the Corporation. Sue has an HNC in Public Admin, a Master’s Degree in Human Resource Management and a national accreditation in governance and clerking. Now focusing on Governance, Sue was an LSIS Associate until its closure in 2013; she has experience as advisor for two Academy Schools and a trainer/mentor for new clerks.

A Register of Interests covering all board members and key staff is maintained by the Clerk in accordance with the Instrument of Government and is available for inspection on request to

Corporation Members

Artboard 7Artboard 6emailArtboard 9Artboard 9Artboard 11Artboard 17Artboard 10Artboard 16Artboard 18