		<u>2018</u>	
Members Present:		In attendance:	
Richard Noah	Chair	Sue Ratcliffe	Clerk to the Corporation
Nigel Evans	Principal	Jenny Stiling	Associate Member
Rosie Darkin-Miller	Vice-Chair (Apologies)	Phil Templeton	Vice Principal
Jane Nicklen		Julia Rogerson	Vice Principal
			(Apologies)
Stephen Prewett		Kelly Bush	Vice Principal
		Liz Hurst	Director of Finance
Steve Webb	Apologies		
Andy Matthews			
Mike Byatt	Apologies/Resignation		
Lyn Bourne			
Rod Davis			
Peter Vowles			
Megan Barnes			
Joanne George	Apologies		
Alex Wyatt			
Garion Campbell- Armstrong	Apologies/Resignation		

Apologies for Absence

60/2018 Apologies for absence was received and accepted from Steve Webb, Rosie Darkin-Miller, Jo George and Julia Rogerson, Vice-Principal.

Apologies and a Resignation were received from Mike Byatt, and Garion Campbell- Armstrong student governor.

Declarations of interest

61/2018 Members had nothing to declare.

Notification of Any Other Business

62/2018 two items of other business were notified and accepted.

Minutes of the meeting held on 10 July 2018

63/2018 the minutes of the meeting held on 10 July 2018 previously circulated, were confirmed as a correct record and signed by the Chair. Members noted:

- The final budget as submitted had been circulated and a copy was on the GVO.
- The revised KPI Report would be available at the next meeting.

Principal's Report

64/2018 LEP Pipeline Projects

The Principal updated the Board on the progress with the Pipeline applications reported at the last meeting. It was noted these were to be submitted to the LEP by 28 September 2018. These are proposals to be funded through underspends from Growth Bid 3 and other projects ready for the release of additional funding Growth Bid 4, which is expected to replace that previously received

through the EU. Members noted three draft bids had been sent to both DCC and the LEP for early comment/feedback:

- Advanced Engineering £3m,
- Motor vehicle £250k
- Construction Centre of Excellence £500 £600k

Feedback from the LEP immediately turned down the Advanced Engineering proposal, with advice that an application to another more appropriate Government fund would be recommended for the Motor vehicle project. However, feedback was more positive for the construction bid. These would be submitted by the required deadline. Members suggested that the business voice in support of proposals, showing business need has made a difference to applications in other areas.

Safeguarding Annual Report

65/2018 Members received the report via the GVO together with copies of recent updated guidance from the Department for Education. The item was deferred for consideration and discussion until the next meeting in the light of the absence of the Vice Principal Performance and Delivery.

Application to the Transaction Unit

66/2018 Confidential. The Board agreed the detail of the application would remain confidential.

Governance Items

67/2018 i) Governors' Virtual Office – Approvals confirmation

The Board confirmed Approval of the following items, actioned via the GVO.

- Audit and Finance Committee Terms of Reference
- Expenditure over £20k renewal of Adobe Creative Cloud Licence
- Code of Practice on Freedom of Speech
- Amendments to Governance Policies EL1 AND EL2

ii) Membership

- a) The Board received resignations from Mr. Mike Byatt for health reasons and Garrion Campbell-Armstrong, student. Members extended their thanks and best wishes to both Mike and Garrion. It was noted there were now three vacancies with applications and a skills review due at the Search Committee on 9 October 29018. Members also extended their best wishes to Julia Rogerson for a speedy recovery.
- b) The Board agreed an extended leave of absence for Megan Barnes, Staff Governor, during her forthcoming maternity leave. The leave of absence would be flexible within the period from 1 December 2018 31 July 2019. Megan would remain in contact through the GVO and attend meetings using her agreed "keeping in touch" days, as and when her circumstances allow.
- c) Confirmation of Committee Membership

Members appointed the following members to Board Committees:

Audit and Finance Committee	Search and Governance Committee
Rosie Darkin-Miller (Chair)	Richard Noah

Jo George	Rosie Darkin-Miller
Stephen Prewett	Stephen Prewett
Jane Nicklen	Peter Vowles
Andy Matthews	Nigel Evans
Steve Webb	Jenny Stiling

Any Other Business

68/2018 i) Beacon Award

The Principal reported that the College's Beacon Award application for its combined Summer Schools had been successful through stages 1 and 2 and is through to stage 3. Peter Vowles explained that the Beacon Awards and for the first time, the TES Awards are working together and there are four stages to the process. The two award programmes will remain independent, with differing criteria and judging processes. However, for the first time ever, both sets of winners will be announced at the TES FE Awards ceremony in central London in February 2019. The shortlist for the two sets of awards will be announced at the AoC Annual Conference in November 2018.

ii) <u>Safeguarding – New Ofsted inspection guidance</u>. Members noted that in addition to new Safeguarding guidance issued by the DfE, Ofsted have issued new inspection guidance requiring students to have two emergency contact numbers on record going forward.

Date of Next Meeting

69/2018 The next meeting was confirmed as Tuesday 9 October 2018.

Confidentiality

70/2018 It was agreed the detail concerning the College's application to the Transaction Unit would be confidential.

Signed	Chair
	9 October 2018